Which hospitals bill TRICARE or the VA FMP for retirees
Fourteen hospitals in Thailand were asked the same five questions by email. Eleven answered in writing. This page is those answers, quoted, with the date and the desk that gave them. Updated as more reply.
Why this exists
“We accept TRICARE” on a hospital website usually describes the active-duty arrangement. For a retiree the question is narrower, and the answer changes by branch: five branches of the same hospital group gave five different answers. So each hospital was asked the same five questions, in writing:
- Do you bill TRICARE directly for military retirees (not active duty)? Inpatient, outpatient, or both?
- Does that also apply to a retiree's spouse and children?
- Do you bill the VA Foreign Medical Program directly for service-connected conditions?
- Is there a minimum bill amount for direct billing under either program?
- What documents do you need on file beforehand, and who is the contact at your insurance desk?
What a hospital's desk states is kept separate from what a patient reports. Where a retiree who used the hospital reports something different, both are shown, with dates. Treat the desk answer as the policy and the patient account as what happened that month.
What the answers add up to
- For TRICARE retirees, direct billing usually means inpatient only, after pre-approval. Outpatient visits are pay and claim at most of the large Bangkok hospitals.
- The VA Foreign Medical Program is the stronger program. Most of the hospitals that answered bill FMP directly for service-connected conditions, several above a minimum bill.
- Every branch sets its own policy. A yes at one branch tells you nothing about the next one.
- Paperwork decides it. Expect to hand over your SSN or DBN for the eligibility check and to keep your FMP Benefits Authorization Letter on file. Upcountry you may be asked for a Tabien Baan or proof of residence.
Thailand
| TRICARE retirees | Yes. Direct billing for TRICARE retired beneficiaries. USD 150 deposit (deductible) at the first visit, then the 25% cost-share. You sign the hospital's TRICARE MOU and claim form before the first visit. |
|---|---|
| Family members | Yes, eligible family members. |
| VA FMP | Yes. Sign the VA MOU and claim form first. Only bills over THB 5,000. Annual limit THB 200,000 per person. Treatment must match the approved conditions. |
| Minimum bill | THB 5,000 (FMP) |
| Documents | SSN for the eligibility check. Tabien Baan (yellow house book) or other proof of permanent residence. FMP Authorization Letter for follow-ups. |
| Confirmed by | International Coordinator desk, 21 Sep 2026 |
| In their words | “The hospital accepts direct billing for TRICARE Retired beneficiaries only.” |
| TRICARE retirees | Yes. Direct billing under the TRICARE Overseas Program. About USD 150 annual deductible at the first visit of the year, then the 25% cost-share. |
|---|---|
| Family members | Yes, sponsor and eligible family members. |
| VA FMP | Yes, limited to conditions on the VA Authorization Letter. Veteran only, not family. |
| Minimum bill | Not stated |
| Documents | VA Authorization Letter for FMP. |
| Confirmed by | Registration & Medical Record, 21 Sep 2026 |
| In their words | “Both the TRICARE Overseas Program (TOP) and the Foreign Medical Program (FMP) are eligible for direct billing services.” |
| TRICARE retirees | Inpatient only, and only if you have no other health insurance. Outpatient is pay and claim. They verify eligibility on the TRICARE portal. USD 150 deductible per member per year and 25% up to the catastrophic cap. |
|---|---|
| Family members | Yes. |
| VA FMP | Yes, outpatient and inpatient, with the Benefits Authorization Letter. |
| Minimum bill | None |
| Documents | SSN or DBN for TRICARE. Benefits Authorization Letter for FMP. |
| Confirmed by | International Insurance department, 21 Sep 2026 |
| In their words | “Direct billing service is available for Inpatient treatment only provided that you do not have other health insurance.” |
| TRICARE retirees | Inpatient only, through pre-approval under their TRICARE contract. All outpatient care is pay and claim. |
|---|---|
| Family members | Yes, if their names are listed in the TRICARE portal. |
| VA FMP | Yes, once they see an Authorization Letter showing the diagnosis and coverage. They check each planned treatment against it. |
| Minimum bill | Not stated |
| Documents | SSN to verify eligibility. FMP Authorization Letter. |
| Confirmed by | International Third Party Payer Services, 21 Sep 2026 |
| In their words | “We are only able to request pre-approval for inpatient care.” |
| TRICARE retirees | They verify eligibility on the portal and bill with a 25% copayment. They quoted a USD 3,000 family catastrophic cap; check your own group's cap at tricare.mil/costs before relying on that figure. |
|---|---|
| Family members | Implied (they quoted a family cap). Confirm for your family. |
| VA FMP | Yes, cashless, with a Benefits Authorization naming the diagnosis. The only Samitivej branch in the VA FMP cashless agreement. |
| Minimum bill | Not stated |
| Documents | Benefits Authorization for FMP. |
| Confirmed by | International Insurance Department, 21 Sep 2026 |
| In their words | “Samitivej Srinakarin Hospital is the only branch currently participating in the VA FMP cashless facility agreement.” |
| A patient reports | A retiree who used them in August 2026 says they billed TRICARE for both outpatient and inpatient care against a USD 1,500 deposit, refunded once he reached the catastrophic cap, and that procedures Samitivej does not perform (CT scans, for example) were contracted to Bangkok Hospital in Bangkok and still billed through Samitivej. The hospital's own desk did not mention outpatient billing or the deposit, so confirm both before you rely on them. |
| TRICARE retirees | Outpatient is pay and claim. For inpatient they send a pre-approval request to TRICARE, and bill directly only if TRICARE issues a Guarantee of Payment. |
|---|---|
| Family members | Same arrangement as the sponsor. |
| VA FMP | No. FMP is pay and claim. |
| Minimum bill | No minimum for inpatient, subject to the Guarantee of Payment |
| Documents | Copy of your insurance card, full name and date of birth. |
| Confirmed by | Insurance Verification of Benefits Center, 21 Sep 2026 |
| In their words | “We are unable to provide direct billing for VA Foreign Medical Program (FMP).” |
| TRICARE retirees | Yes. Direct billing for retirees and their families, inpatient and outpatient. |
|---|---|
| Family members | Yes. |
| VA FMP | Yes, inpatient and outpatient for service-connected conditions, with no out of pocket cost when FMP applies. |
| Minimum bill | None for either program |
| Documents | FMP authorization letter. SSN so they can verify you in the TRICARE Overseas Program system. |
| Confirmed by | International Medical Service Consultant, 23 Sep 2026 |
| In their words | “We do a direct billing for retirees and their families on both inpatient and outpatient.” |
| TRICARE retirees | Did not answer the TRICARE question. |
|---|---|
| Family members | Not answered. |
| VA FMP | Yes. Anything over THB 10,000 is billed directly to FMP. Under that you pay. Go to the cashier department on the 4th floor. |
| Minimum bill | THB 10,000 (FMP) |
| Documents | Authorization letter listing your service-connected conditions, VA card, passport. |
| Confirmed by | Secretary Department, 21 Sep 2026 |
| In their words | “Anything over 10,000 baht is automatic bill direct to FMP.” |
| TRICARE retirees | Inpatient only. If the doctor recommends admission or a major procedure after the consultation they coordinate direct billing with TRICARE. Outpatient is pay at the time of service and claim afterwards. A cost-share still applies depending on your benefit status. |
|---|---|
| Family members | Yes, if the family members are on the plan and their coverage verifies as active. |
| VA FMP | Yes, inpatient and outpatient for service-connected conditions. Tests and treatment must relate to the approved condition and medications must be FDA approved. Vitamins and supplements are not covered. |
| Minimum bill | None for either program |
| Documents | Passport or government ID, Uniformed Services ID card, TRICARE or benefit card, FMP Benefits Authorization Letter, any TRICARE referral, recent records and medication list, and details of any other health insurance. |
| Confirmed by | International Insurance & Patient Services, 24 Sep 2026 |
| In their words | “Our direct billing arrangement is currently available for inpatient services only.” |
| TRICARE retirees | No. TRICARE is not a partnered insurer. Pay upfront and claim reimbursement afterwards. |
|---|---|
| Family members | No. |
| VA FMP | Not offered. |
| Minimum bill | n/a |
| Documents | n/a |
| Confirmed by | Patient Access Officer, 28 Sep 2026 |
| In their words | “We are so sorry that TRICARE insurance is not our partnered Insurance yet. The payment policy will be pay upfront and reimburse later.” |
| A patient reports | Members report MedPark already bills through International SOS for other insurers and that an article this year described work toward TRICARE direct billing. The hospital says there is no date for a direct billing contract. |
| TRICARE retirees | No direct billing. |
|---|---|
| Family members | No. |
| VA FMP | No direct billing. |
| Minimum bill | n/a |
| Documents | n/a |
| Confirmed by | International desk, 21 Sep 2026 |
| In their words | “Our hospital does not provide direct billing services for the healthcare benefits under TRICARE Select Overseas or the VA Foreign Medical Program.” |
Asked, no answer yet
Samitivej Sukhumvit (Bangkok), BNH Hospital (Bangkok), Bangkok Hospital Chiang Mai, Bangkok Hospital Ratchasima (Korat). No answer is not a no. Ask them yourself before you rely on anything.
Philippines
The Philippines works differently. TRICARE runs a Philippine Preferred Provider Network, and beneficiaries living or travelling there are expected to use a PPN or certified provider; pharmacy claims are only cost-shared at a TRICARE certified pharmacy. So the question there is less “will you bill” and more which status the hospital holds and what you pay at the desk.
| TRICARE retirees | Yes. Bills TRICARE direct for retirees, inpatient and outpatient, provided you come to their office before the procedure. |
|---|---|
| Family members | Yes, for an eligible spouse and children. |
| VA FMP | Yes, billed direct for service-connected conditions, with no minimum bill. |
| Minimum bill | None |
| Documents | A copy of your service-connected condition letter for FMP. Your SSN so they can check TRICARE eligibility. |
| Confirmed by | International Patient Services, Center for Patient Experience, 29 Sep 2026 |
| In their words | “Yes we are still a preferred provider po... Yes for both inpatient and outpatient as long as you drop by on our office before you do the procedure.” |
| A patient reports | Their pharmacy is not TRICARE certified, so prescriptions are filled outside at Mercury or Watsons. |
Baypointe in Olongapo publishes no email address. If you have the address for their TRICARE desk, it is worth sending them the same questions.
Ask your own hospital
The only answer that counts is the one from the branch you will use. Copy this to their international insurance desk:
Subject: US military retiree - TRICARE and VA FMP direct billing question Hello, I am a retired US military member living here. My family and I are covered by TRICARE Select Overseas and I am registered with the VA Foreign Medical Program (FMP). Before we choose a hospital I would like to confirm your current policy in writing. 1. Do you bill TRICARE directly for military RETIREES (not active duty)? If yes, is that for inpatient care, outpatient care, or both? 2. Does TRICARE direct billing also apply to a retiree's spouse and children? 3. Do you bill the VA Foreign Medical Program directly for service-connected conditions? Inpatient, outpatient, or both? 4. Is there a minimum bill amount for direct billing under either program? 5. What documents do you need on file beforehand, and who is the contact person at your insurance desk? Thank you for your help.
If you get an answer, it is worth posting it wherever other retirees in your country gather. That is how this list grew.
Sources and limits
Every Thailand and Philippines entry above comes from a written email reply from that hospital's own insurance, international or registration desk, between 21 September and 28 September 2026. Staff are not named. Patient accounts are labelled as such and are one person's experience, not policy. This page is not affiliated with TRICARE, the VA, International SOS or any hospital, and it is not legal, medical or financial advice. Policies change without notice; confirm in writing before you receive care.
Last updated 28 September 2026.